Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Collected Works of Hugh Nibley, Vol. 11: Tinkling Cymbals and Sounding Brass (Hardcover)*

CAD $64.99
Current Stock:
Call to Order

Out of Stock

Product Description

Author : Hugh Nibley 

The apostle Paul wrote to the Corinthians, &ldquoThough I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal” (I Corinthians 13:1). Since then, the terms “tinkling cymbals” and “sounding brass” have often been used to signify words of emptiness and confusion — describing perfectly most writings critical of the Latter-day Saints.

Trained in history and interested in classical rhetoric, Hugh Nibley brings a broad perspective to his study of anti-Mormon writings. Included in this volume are:

    • No Ma'am, that's Not History
  • Censoring the Joseph Smith Story
  • The Myth Makers
  • Sounding Brass

In all these works, Nibley explains and defends the life and teachings of the prophets. His skill at recognizing and dissecting flawed arguments allows him to separate the chaff from the wheat. He knows the scriptures. He knows that Joseph's name would be known for good and evil, but he has clearly chosen to be numbered among those who sought counsel from the Prophet. He has little patience with those who write to persuade others to dismiss either the prophets of their divine messages.

About the Author:

Hugh Nibley received his Ph.D. in history from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1939, and was emeritus professor of ancient scripture at Brigham Young University. A prolific writer, a keen and witty observer, and a relentless critic of the worldly, he has led members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints of all ages to a deeper understanding of and commitment to the gospel of Jesus Christ. Dr. Nibley passed away in February, 2005. 

Deseret Book

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Find Similar Products by Category

Click the button below to add the Collected Works of Hugh Nibley, Vol. 11: Tinkling Cymbals and Sounding Brass (Hardcover)* to your wish list.